Beast Friday: Angie Stole My Gloves!

DAILY MOTIVATION: KVELERTAK!!

KVELERTAK! Great metal band I was recently introduced to. I was getting into their stuff just in time to see them live! They opened for Mastodon at Showbox SoDo last week and I have to say they were awesome live! In case you’re wondering Kvelertak is from Norway and all of their lyrics are in Norwegian. One seems to follow the other there. Even though I don’t know what they are saying its still a great sound! When time permits I’m going to look up the translation to their lyrics. For now, with thanks to Google Translate I can tell you that Kvelertak and this self-entitled track means “Stranglehold.” If you like this song check out other titles by them like Mjod (“Mead”) and Blodtorst (“Bloodthirsty”)! Enjoy.

Great way to kick off Beast Friday. And this one will be a Beast!

D>S>P

__________

DAILY FEATURE: Heavy Lifting for Running

Heavy Lifting For Better Running by Nate Helming

This is more for all of my endurance athletes out there who don’t do too much with the weights. CFers this really doesn’t apply to you, you already know this (or you should!). I’ve been sitting on this article for a while waiting for a good time to share it. I suppose now is as good a time as any. The article was taken from Competitor magazine and was written by our good friend Nate Helming from Helming Athletics, the Run Experience, and San Francisco Cross Fit.

The article describes the benefits of heavy weight lifting for improving your running. Instead of rehashing the entire thing, I’ll let you read the article directly from Nate!

__________

CROSSFIT ENDURANCE WOD

MORNING SESSION

Warm-up: Stretching with PVC, 25 jumping jacks x 3, 5 KB OH press @25lbs x 3, 5 KB swings @25lbs x 3, 10 A/S x 3.

Strength: ME pull-ups

  • BW x 7, 10lbs x 5, 15lbs x 3, 25lbs x2, 35lbs x 1

Conditioning WOD: Angie – 100 pull-ups, 100 push-ups, 100 sit-ups, 100 squats for time. This was not pleasant…Angie stole my gloves. If anyone doesn’t get that reference I’ll briefly explain. In cross fit when doing so many consecutive pull-ups that the skin is pulled from your hands and calluses it is referred to as being “de-gloved.” So now when I saw that Angie stole my gloves, you get what I mean.

  • Time 24:00
ME pull-ups then 100 pull-ups in Angie will do this to you!

ME pull-ups then 100 pull-ups in Angie will do this to you!

 AFTERNOON SESSION

Warm-up: 25 jumping jacks x 3, 10 leg swings L/R, 10 hip circles L/R, 10 bent over hamstring stretches.
Running: :90s on / :60s off until form/pace dissipates. *Done on a treadmill set at a 2.0 incline.
  • Completed 6 iterations at: 8.6, 8.6, 8.7, 8.7, 8.8, 8.8.
Leave a Reply

