My Philosophy Part 2: Be Your Only Competitor

DAILY MOTIVATION

“Always dream and shoot higher than you know you can do. Do not bother just to be better than your contemporaries or predecessors. Try to be better than yourself.” – William Faulkner

Anyone with that mustache and pipe needs to be listened to!

Anyone with that mustache and pipe needs to be listened to!

As you read the quote by William Faulkner and my post below think about how this ties in with my personal philosophy from yesterday. Obviously to me the idea of self-improvement without the impedement of others and, in time, the assisting of others is of vital importance. In my opinion, it should be our main focus behind living our lives in the modern world. Keep all of this in mind as you read my interpretation of the quote above by William Faulkner.

You are your truest competitor in every sense. Every time you approach the starting line, every time you’re facing that barbell, every time they are counting down to the start of a WOD there is no one else present in that moment except for you. Have the consciousness and frame of mind to literally see it this way and I promise you your performance will drastically improve. Having thoughts of other competitors during competition or during training will serve no purpose. They are at best a distraction, and at their worst a stressor that can completely take you out of competition.

Furthermore, do not seek motivation for your performance in defeating others or being the best. These are negative motivations which are born out of spite and pride rather than of positive sources. Do not look at other athletes with envy or anger, do not focus on putting them down. Instead focus your attention inwardly. View yourself with a powerful image and strong self-esteem. This should be all the motivation you need. Focusing on your only defeating your competitors and being better than them will surround you with an aura of negativity. In addition, you will also be making another critical mistake by allowing someone else to dictate you training and performance. So, if you are a competitive athlete and this is your passion in life you would be allowing others to basically control you in all aspects of your being. Think about it. Here’s a simple, but demonstrative example:

Say you and I are in a pull-up competition. My focus in training is on nothing but beating you. Today you did 100 pull-ups in training. Well now I feel like I have to do at least 100. The next day you do 200 pull-ups so now following this improper motivation of one-upping my competitor I feel as if I have to do at least 200 and so on. The point of this is that you are leading me around by the nose and basically creating my training plan for me. Never mind that doing 100 pull-ups or 200 pull-ups may not be what I need or what is best for me, its what I feel I have to do. What a dangerous and foolish way of thinking and training!

When you are training and you go to the box, gym, track, pool, field, etc and give it your best effort. Truly, your honest best effort. Doing this while taking care of your body from a rest and nutrition stand point will increase your gains and improve your overall wellness drastically! Think about every day that you train as a small step in the right direction. Every morning you wake up you are going to be just a little bit better than before. You are that much stronger than the only competitor you need to worry about. Yourself.

If you train with this mind set of self-improvement and being the best athlete you can be given your individual circumstances, something miraculous will happen. Without even realizing it, by becoming better than the you of yesterday, you are going to become a lot better than most of the other athletes out there as well!

YOU ARE STRONGER THAN YOU!

D>S>P

Most of my training is done solo. No one cheering me on, no distractions, just me, my focus, and some great music!

Most of my training is done solo. No one cheering me on, no distractions, just me, my focus, and some great music!

I know, I know the bars a little too far back and my body weight is a hair too forward! These tiny transgressions have been corrected. Nobody’s perfect, especially me…

__________

CROSSFIT ENDURANCE WOD

MORNING SESSION

Warm-up: Stretching with PVC, 25 jumping jacks x 3, 10 push-ups x 3, 5 KB swings @ 35lbs x 3, 10 A/S x 3.

Strength: Push Press 3-3-3-3-3-3-3

  • 115lbs, 115lbs, 125lbs, 125lbs, 125lbs, 135lbs, 135lbs

Core: 10 Ab pull down @ 190lbs x 4 super set with knees-to-elbows 8-7-6-6

 AFTERNOON SESSION

Warm-up: 25 jumping jacks x 3, 10 leg swings L/R, 10 bent over hamstring stretch L/R, 10 ankle rotations L/R

Running: 800m intervals resting 2:00 until form/pace dissipates.

  • Completed four iterations on a treadmill at 2.0 incline: 7.8 3:50, 8.0 3:44, 8.2 3:40, 8.4 3:35
Leave a Reply

