You’re Alive. Think of all the Possibilities!

DAILY MOTIVATION

“I like living. I have sometimes been wildly, despairingly, acutely miserable, racked with sorrow; but through it all I still know quite certainly that just to be alive is a grand thing.” – Agatha Christie

We have all been there. Down, depressed, unhappy with ourselves, our training, maybe even life in general. Its at times like these when we are down that we are afforded a great opportunity to move up. In my opinion the first step in bringing yourself up from a low is to focus on all of the little things that are going right for you. This morning you woke up, you’re still alive, you have a new day to live and accomplish anything you wish. Start there!

20140501-144725.jpgBeing alive is a wonderful thing. This sounds like the basest most general statement ever, but I want you to take a moment and think about. How brief is life here on earth? None of us know how much time we have and none of us know what (if anything) comes next. All we can do is work with the facts that we have here, now, in this present moment. Those facts are simple: 1. I am alive 2. I have control over my life and can do as I choose. So yes, being alive is a wonderful thing! We’ve all been given the gift of the moment and its ours to do with as we please. Remember, next time when things aren’t going your way, you feel depressed, or life is hitting you hard that no matter how bad things are you’re still alive. You still have this moment to do with as you choose. That my friend is something to be extremely happy about! Live YOUR life!

I’m going to close this with saying that is used at the conclusion of many yoga classes. Its something of a fond farewell and wishes for a happy journey in life until we meet again: “May you be contented and pleased. May you be happy and safe. May your body support you with strength. May your life unfold smoothly and with ease. Namaste.”

Namaste is a phrase derived from Sanskrit and is used as a greeting or farewell in many Asian countries. In yoga, as well as meditations, Buddhist, and other religious practices it is used as a phrase and gesture of peace, love, and respect. The actual idea or meaning behind it in this sense may change but here is an example I found: “I honor that place in you in which the entire universe dwells. I honor the place in you which is of love, of truth, of light, and of peace. When you are in that place in you and I am in that place in me we are one.”

There is another translation or use of Namaste which I prefer. It’s meaning is more vague and open to interpretation and is how namaste was explained to me in the first yoga classes I took. This translation is simply: “The light in me recognizes the light in you.”

The hand gesture for namaste traditionally held over the heart or to the forehead.

The hand gesture for namaste traditionally held over the heart or to the forehead.

D>S>P

__________

DAILY FEATURE: Athletic Recon

imagesCAGLFBOD

If you have not heard of Athletic Recon you need to do yourself a favor and go check out their website! They describe themselves as a functional street wear manufacturer. Meaning that they make clothes that not only look cool, but fundtional well as athletic apparel. I have gone through their product list many times and have to say that there is nothing of theirs that I would not wear! Looking forward to placing an order soon!

Check out an interview and podcast with Athletic Recon founder Ryan Heuser done by Inception Labs one of the many brainchildren of CF Endurance founder Brian MacKenzie. Listen to the podcast on Stitcher here.

__________

CROSSFIT ENDURANCE WOD

MORNING SESSION

PT TEST DAY

Here are my stats as of today and as far as the PT test is concerned.

  • Height: 5’10”, Weight: 172lbs, Waist 31.5″
  • Push-ups in :60s: 55, Sit-ups in :60s: 52, 1.5M run: 9:34
AFTERNOON SESSION
REST and RECOVERY! I am feeling completely exhausted and sore from the duathlon on Sunday and putting a 100% effort into my PT test this morning. Going to take the after to relax and recover. Plus I’m coaching at JBLM tonight!
Leave a Reply

