The Floating-Beast Friday

DAILY MOTIVATION

This is one of a three part poem entitled “The Beast With Us All” by James Clerk. You can read the full three parts here. Enjoy!

b9947651z.1_20130706112116_000_gfi1evtf.1-1

Awesome painting by Don Ed Hardy!

It stares at me, breathing heavy

Blood red eyes holding fast

Breath so cold, a shiver

Blackest fir of the night

It stands up straight, calls my name

Snapping to attention do I fall

A smiling laugh, perched for flight

“Go now fool. Run”

My legs begin to ache

The beast’s game is on

The hunter becomes the hunted

In this flight for life till dawn

I turn around just long enough to see

Rushing rapids try to drown the soul

He catches up, throw my life

Separate it, may I stay

Thrust to the ground a weight

I say nothing, accept my fate

He bares his teeth, open, close

Myself damned with the dead

I wake with a start

My reality nothing more then a dream

Cast the cover away, glancing past, a gasp

For the realization the monster is me

Made the decision to throw in a little poetry for your motivation on Beast Friday! Cool poem until you get to the last line, then its plain awesome! Gave me goosebumps. Go hit this training session hard! 

 D>S>P

__________

DAILY FEATURE: Float Seattle

float seattle

Today, I had the opportunity to experience something new and truly amazing! After a tough morning workout I headed up to Seattle for an appointment at Float Seattle for an hour long floating session. So what exactly is a floating session? Check out Float Seattle’s web site for a better description, but I’ll provide my thoughts on the concept and experience here!

32a2592-1024x682

Not really knowing what to expect, but with great anticipation I arrived at Float Seattle this morning and was greeted by Alex, an extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful staff member. This being my first float experience he explained the process to me and gave me a brief idea of what to expect. He took me back to a quiet room containing the float tank itself and a shower. Alex said I should put in ear plugs, shower, then enter the float tank and just let my mind go where it wants to. The feeling and mind state that you experience was supposed to be something near the semi-conscious state we’ve all experienced before fasting asleep. Where our thoughts begin to wonder on their own and begin to take dream-like shape, though we still have present awareness enough to know we are not fully unconscious. And that is exactly what I experienced for an hour!

acievethetastate-e1349468688694

The tank itself is fully enclosed and almost completely dark. It has 10 inches of water heated to the temperature of your skin with the air above heated to approximately the same temperature. The water contains over 1000lbs of epsom salts allowing you to float on the top with no effort at all. The full effect of floating effortlessly in water heated to your skin temperature and the air above at the same creates the feeling of being totally weightless. You almost feel like there is no water at all and you are just floating in your own piece of outer space. This was a truly relaxing experience that let my mind wander to new places. A one-of-a-kind experience that I am looking forward to doing at a minimum several times a month!

You owe it to yourself to try it at least once!

443061953_640

__________

CROSSFIT ENDURANCE WOD

MORNING SESSION

Warm-up: 25 jumping jacks x 3, 5 dips x 3, 5 KB swings @ 25lbs x 3, 10 A/S x 3.

Strength: DE power clean 10 x 2 every :60s @ 70% 1RM.

  • Completed @ 115lbs.

Conditioning WOD: 300 KB swings @ 53lbs. *Scaled the weight down to 40lbs for 183 reps then down again to 35lbs for the remainder.

  • Time: 19:09
AFTERNOON SESSION

REST, RECOVERY, and MOBILITY!

Leave a Reply

