14.4 and Pool Time!

DAILY MOTIVATION

“You can’t wait for inspiration, you have to go after it with a club.” – Jack London

...or axe!

…or axe!

__________

CF OPEN 14.4

Warm-up: Stretching with PVC, 2:00 rowing at an easy pace, 5 toe-to-bars, 8 wall balls @ 20lbs, worked up to a 135lbs clean.

14.4 WOD: 14:00 AMRAP of:

  • 60 Calorie Row
  • 50 Toe-to-bars
  • 40 Wall balls @ 40lbs
  • 30 Cleans @ 135lbs
  • 20 Muscle-ups

Completed: 168 reps! That’s 18 reps of cleans which was over my goal of 160 reps by 8!

My nerves were getting to me all morning! Why? I don’t know. In my build-ups to the previous Open workouts this year didn’t involve nearly as much anxiety,but this one was different. The only cause I can see for this was the fact that in 14.1, 14.2, and 14.3 I possessed a pretty good idea going in on how I was going to perform and what the outcome would be. In 14.4 however, even though I had my strategy in place, I had no idea where to set my goal. I felt lost without a target to shoot for so I hastily set a point at completing 10 cleans so 160 was  my number to go for. As it turns out I was almost spot on! Completing 168 reps I again barely surpassed my goal, but nonetheless exceeded by initial expectations. This makes me want to set a higher goal for 14.5 and really grit my teeth and go for it!

My strategy for 14.4 revolved around pacing. After hearing from numerous people about how they had ran out of steam a fraction of the way through the WOD I knew I need to take this one a little slower. On the other hand, I was not planning on reaching the muscle-ups so I could afford to push myself more in an effort to maximize my clean count. I’m kind of ashamed to say that 135lbs is about 80%-85% of my 1RM. Couple that with the fact that I would have already completed 150 reps prior to my first clean made me a little apprehensive about how to pace them. Starting with the row I decided to set a pace of 1200-1300 calories/hr and see how that felt. I gripped the handle as lightly as possible to save forearm and started off. In actuality my pace stayed steady around 1100-1200 and I was off the rower just over 3:00 in. For the toes-to-bar I set my pace at 5 then break. This worked great and I was able to maintain it through around 35 reps. Then I finished it off with sets of 4 and 3, completing the toes-to-bar portion in just over two minutes! The wall ball pace was set at 8 then rest. Again, this worked well and I completed around 30 reps before my pace broke and I finished up with sets of 4 to 5. Finally, with about 3:30 remaining on the clock, I came to the dreaded cleans. I really didn’t have a strategy here other than to complete a rep, drop the weight from the finish position, recover until I could do another, then go again. For the first few reps I rested a solid 10 seconds between attempts. This turned out to be my biggest error in 14.4 strategy. With motivation from my box-mates I pushed through the cleans taking less and less rest as I progressed. If I had maintained this pace from the start of the cleans I most likely would have made it to the muscle-ups!

___________

CF ENDURANCE WOD

MORNING SESSION

Strength: ME Floor Press

  • Completed: 75lbs x 10, 95lbs x 8, 115lbs x 6, 135lbs x 4, 165lbs x 3, 175lbs x 2, 185lbs x 1, 190lbs x 1. *New PR!

Conditioning WOD: Completed 14.4. That’s enough conditioning for the day!

AFTERNOON SESSION

Warm-up: 500m row, 50yd free, 100yd free, 100yd kick, 150yd kick.

Swimming (Short Interval): 4-6 x 2:00 TT, resting 5:00 until form/pace dissipates or six rounds are completed.

  • Completed 4 iterations of the WOD with distances of approximately 208yds, 207yds, 206yds, and 205yds respectively. Consistent, no?

Leave a Reply

