First Try at 14.3 and CF Endurance Seminar

DAILY MOTIVATION

“The man who is incapable of making a mistake is incapable of anything.” – Abraham Lincoln

"Oh hey, what's up?" Judging 14.2 at JBLM CF.

“Oh hey, what’s up?” Judging 14.2 at JBLM CF.

We learn more from our mistakes than our successes. Don’t ever, ever, ever be afraid of failure. The fear of failure and making mistakes should never prevent you from moving forward, taking a step forward, getting out of your comfort zone, trying something new, etc… These are the things that make life great and worth living. Do not avoid these moments, embrace them and use them to your advantage. If you fail learn the lessons, target the weaknesses that caused the failure and promise to improve them. If you make a concerted effort at this you will either improve your existing skills or learn new ones. Constant progression, through DISCIPLINE, STRENGTH, and PERFORMANCE!

__________

CF OPEN 14.3: ATTEMPT 1

crossfit-meridian-logoYesterday afternoon I pulled into Meridian, ID after a nine hour drive from Tacoma around 3:30pm. Checked into the hotel with just enough time to relax for a bit before heading to CrossFit Meridian to run through my attempt at 14.3. Dropping my bags into the hotel room I was looking forward to a quick power nap until I looked at my phone and realized I crossed a time zone and only had about 15 minutes to change and get to the box…great. After my GPS took me to the wrong place and I actually got the right location loaded I made it to the box just in time. There I met the owner Rick who is a fantastic guy and very hospitable to an out-of-towner. He set me up on station and told me to run through my warm-up and he’d judge me whenever I was ready. His attitude and that of the other box members definitely relieved some of my pre-WOD nerves. After a quick warm-up and mentally going over my strategy I felt ready to go and stepped onto the platform and waited for the final countdown.

The first two rounds of dead lifts and box jumps went fast. Once I hit the set of 225lbs dead lifts I slowed down, but still got through that whole round with about 2:30 left in the WOD. Next up was the 275lbs dead lift and that is where I hit the wall. I was only able to pull one at a time and dropped the weight from the top on every rep. I squeezed out seven of these in the 2:30 minutes. Despite the fact that I passed my goal by seven reps, I feel I left some on the table with this one and am going to try it again on Monday!

Also, I’d like to give a shout out to Jack and Scott, two regulars at CrossFit Meridian who I was fortunate enough to meet and complete 14.3 next to! Great work guys, keep it up in 14.4 and 14.5!

___________

CF ENDURANCE SEMINAR DAY ONE

CFE_unscared21

Check us out, putting those newly learned skills to work!

Today was day one of the CF Endurance seminar and I had an absolute blast! We had a small class allowing plenty of one-on-one time with the coach so we all learned some valuable lessons. Everyone in the class is great and I’m pleased to have the opportunity to have met and learned from them. The seminar was taught by PJ Newton of CF Endurance. It turns out he is the one who writes the programming for CF Endurance and thus the man responsible for the training that I do every day. He is depth of knowledge about endurance sports is amazing and I can’t think of a better coach to have. After a long day of drills, lectures, we topped it all off with a WOD and informal Q&A session. I thought my running technique was pretty good, but it turns out I have a lot to work on. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for tomorrow!

__________

CF ENDURANCE WOD

For those of you going with CF Endurance today here it is! Oly distance triathlon! I’m in the CF Endurance Seminar all day, but I’m definitely going to run through this one next week!

Leave a Reply

