Heavy Dead Lifts and Burpees, Long Interval Biking

DAILY MOTIVATION

“One day, in retrospect, the years of struggle will strike you as the most beautiful.” – Sigmund Freud

No one can know what the future will hold for themselves. Though I can say with a fair bit of confidence that looking back on my life, the ups and downs, triumphs and tribulations, pleasure and pain that I will entirely agree with Freud. I, like most, am a results driven person. Positive outcomes are my reward for hard work and dedication, and that’s a great thing. Am I satisfied at this point? Yes and no. With respect to the fact that I have accomplished a goal or task or progressed in some way, yes I am satisfied. But do I quit at this point? Does anyone? Most of us will not. We will accomplish what we set out to then look for the next challenge, that next step that will take us even further and further down the path of the journey we are on. So is the true beauty in life in the victory and achievement? Absolutely not. The beauty is in the struggle, the effort, the work that takes us where we want to be, not sitting back and reveling in achievement. So next time you are in the middle of a training session and things are really starting to get tough realize that THIS IS IT, the beauty of it all, you will make it through, you will achieve. Then you’ll do it all over again. The cycle continues….Discipline > Strengthen > Achieve > Repeat. Its beautiful.

___________________________________________________________________________________

DAILY ATHLETE

At the young age of 23 Ben Smith surprised a lot of people by finishing 3rd in the 2013 Games. Check out the great article/interview featuring him by Box Life magazine at the link below.

Games2012_BenSmith_boxjump_chipper-e1352405338693

Ben Smith’s CrossFit Games Page

Video with Ben Smith by CrossFit Games Web Site

Interview by Box Life magazine with Ben Smith

___________________________________________________________________________________

TODAY’S CF ENDURANCE

Check out this quick video by CF Endurance. They are starting a series called Two Minute Tuesdays, which I will continue to post for you. Great information in here, which I’m sure they will keep up!

MORNING SESSION

Warm-up:

  • Stretching with PVC
  • 500m row
  • 5 hand release push-ups
  • 5 AKB swings x 3 @ 26lbs
  • 10 Bent over single-leg hamstring stretch, left/right

Strength & Conditioning WOD:

  • 5 rounds of: Deadlift x 5 @ (315lbs/215lbs) and 10 burpees. *Scaled weight to 245lbs.
  1. Time: 8:20

Biking:

  • 7:00 on/4:00 off until form/pace dissipates.
  1. 2.14M
  2. 2.08M
  3. 2.09M

Taking an afternoon off, eating large quantities of healthy, organic food, and a good nights sleep can work wonders for the human body. Thats just what I did yesterday and subsequently crushed this morning’s session! I was able to successfully complete the Strength and Conditioning WOD and the biking session back-to-back. (CF Endurance recommends waiting at least three hours between sessions, which I normally do, but I’m not going to be able to work out this afternoon.) The S&C WOD pushed me hard and I pushed back with equal vigor. The dead lift load was heavy for me, and I was actually able to complete more reps unbroken later in the WOD, same with the burpees! I then moved on to some knees-to-elbow to hit my core, then went right over to the bike. The biking session was just as strong as the S&C and I was able to push hard and felt a good sense of exhaustion when it was all over. GREAT DAY!

___________________________________________________________________________________

AFTERNOON SESSION

REST AND RECOVERY!

Mobility:

  • Mobility WOD Daily RX
Leave a Reply

