Time Trial in the Pool and Recovery

DAILY MOTIVATION

“Man often becomes what he believes himself to be. If I keep on saying to myself that I cannot do a certain thing, it is possible that I may end by really becoming incapable of doing it. On the contrary, if I have the belief that I can do it, I shall surely acquire the capacity to do it even if I may not have it at the beginning.” – Mahatma Gandhi

The beauty of this is that the meaning and idea behind this quote can be applied to all aspects of our lives. Not only that, but it is also true to the fullest extent! The power of your mind, and in particular positive thinking, is something so unfathomably vast its incomprehensible. In addition, it has also been said that your mind’s ability to process positive thoughts is much greater than its processing ability of negative thoughts. Let me clarify this with an example:

You are focused on completing a difficult task, whether it be a PR lift, a game winning shot, or some other high pressure situation demanding complete focus. Let’s say a positive outcome for this task is Event A and a negative outcome is Event B. Your mind will better process thoughts of Event A “I want/I will/Do Event A” than thoughts like “I do not want/I won’t/Don’t Event B.” So if you’re doing a heavy squat and know that you will have a problem with leaning forward under heavy loads, losing that posterior chain engagement, and you’re thinking “Don’t lean forward, don’t lean forward…” your mind is processing “Lean forward, lean forward.” Almost inevitably you will lean forward, lose that posterior chain engagement and either execute the squat with poor form, fail to execute the squat, or worse injure yourself. On the other hand if you think positive thoughts like imagining yourself executing with perfect form or keeping the weight back in your heels then your mind will process those positive thoughts and dramatically increase your chance of executing properly and successfully.

Alright, that was a long-winded and possibly confusing way to make my point. Apologies. But, the long and short of it is positive thinking and an uplifting attitude will trump negative thinking and doubt every time. If you have a particular goal in life, big or small, you need to create what I would call a “positive obsession” with reaching it. Completely immerse yourself in whatever you need to do to ensure a positive outcome. Half measures and weak efforts will lead to poor results. Jump in with both feet, focus all of your energies on the required tasks, tie the positive outcome to all of your physical, mental, and emotional actions. To end this portion of the post I leave you with an extremely overused adage, but I think it summarizes this complicated explanation of a simple idea succinctly. “If you believe it, you can achieve it.”

Positive thoughts. Show some STRENGTH THROUGH DISCIPLINE!

___________________________________________________________________________________

DAILY ATHLETE

Valerie Voboril, CF Games athlete, and one of the top-ranked women competitors!

Valerie Voboril, CF Games athlete, and one of the top-ranked women competitors!

Valerie Voboril’s CF Games Page

Article from The Box Magazine on Valerie Voboril’s Efforts for Team USA

Great video on Valerie Voboril! Take seven minutes to watch it!

___________________________________________________________________________________

TODAY’S CF ENDURANCE

MORNING SESSION

Warm-up:

  • Stretching with PVC
  • 500m row
  • 50yd, 100yd free
  • 150yd kicking

Swimming:

  • 1200yd TT
  1. Time: 23:07.

Recovery Workout:

  • GHD Sit-ups, 3 x To burn. Completed: 3 x 14.
  • GHD Raises, 3x To burn. Completed: 3 x 9.
  • Bench Press, 3 x To burn with light weight. Completed: 15-15-12 @95lbs.
  • KB Swings, 3 x To burn with light weight. Completed: 3 x 9 @ 35lbs.
  • Strict Pull-ups, 3 x To burn. Completed: 5-4-4.

As an added bonus, I thought I would throw this into today’s post! Check out this article by Training Peaks on how to simulate open water swimming in the pool. One of the biggest adjustments and most difficult things to cope with in triathlons is going from training in a nice lap pool to competing in an open body of water like a lake or the ocean. Many thanks to Training Peaks for compiling this list!

Struggling in the pool this morning! First of all the pool was packed and warm temperature wise. Really, too warm to complete a good 1200yd TT. Decided to push on with it though and after a quick warm-up I got right into it. I don’t know if I pushed to hard at the start, my form was off, or if I was just too tired but about 1/4 way in I was having trouble getting my breathing down and felt out of it. For the rest of the 1200yds it was a battle for every stroke and every breath mentally. When it was all said and done though my time was solid, I’m pleased with it. I’m getting faster, but don’t want to sacrifice form. After finishing I took a minute to chat with my lane mate Jackie. She was clearly a MUCH better swimmer than I and was able to offer me some tips and talk tattoos! Apparently, I need to pick my head up a bit more as I’m creating a fair amount of drag. This came as a surprise to me because I always felt my head was too far up and I was actually making a conscious effort to keep it down. Something else to work on. Great to meet you Jackie, hope to swim with you soon!

___________________________________________________________________________________

AFTERNOON SESSION

REST AND RECOVERY!

Mobility:

  • Mobility WOD Daily RX
Leave a Reply

