Long Interval Swimming, Increasing the Intensity

Mike McGoldrick, CF Games athlete, representing Barbell Shrugged!

Mike McGoldrick, CF Games athlete, representing Barbell Shrugged

Check out this Barbell Shrugged episode with Mike McGoldrick!

Daily Motivation:

“A vital part of the happiness formula is self-discipline. Whoever conquers himself knows deep happiness that fills the heart with joy.” ― Norman Vincent Peale

Not much to say about this quote. Other than the fact that it sums up my life’s mantra of self-discipline, thus the purpose or motivating force behind everything that I value. NBD.

TODAY’S CF ENDURANCE

MORNING SESSION

Warm-up:

  • Stretching with PVC
  • Row 500m
  • 50yds, 100yds free
  • 150yds kicking

Swimming:

  • 400yds TT x 3 with 5:00 rest between iterations.
  1. Time: 7:34.
  2. Time: 7:48.
  3. Time: 7:54

Swam hard this morning! As far as the times go I was glad that I was able to keep them all under 8:00. As usual though, it always could have been faster! I was especially pleased with the first iteration, just wishing I could have kept the latter two closer to that 7:30 mark. A goal for next time! Another sign of progress was my form! Not only was I able to maintain what felt like good form and technique to me, but I was able to make a few tweaks that improved my times (I think) and were less tiring. All of this while maintaining a TT pace AND coming off a not-so-great swim session just last night! Basically, on my form and technique I’m working on keeping a steadier and more powerful kick and rotating my entire body while increasing my reach. All of this has made me faster while being less exerting physically. Goes to show me that I am improving and it’s time to ramp up my efforts in the water and cut those times!

Much need mobility work tonight! K-Star is going to hook me up with Mobility WOD!

AFTERNOON SESSION

REST AND RECOVERY!

Mobility:

  • 10:00 squat test.

The was the first time I’ve ever done the ten minute squat test. It was not pleasant, but really did loosen me up and work my ankle mobility and strengthen my position at the bottom. Can’t wait to do the next one!

Check out this video of the first ever ten minute squat test. Also, the very first video posted on Mobility WOD. True classic!

Leave a Reply

