DE Varying Grip Bench Press and a Cool WOD, JR Approves!

Marcel and I coaching JBLM CF. We'll be there again tonight. Better bring it, OH squats are my favorite!

Marcel and I coaching JBLM CF. We’ll be there again tonight. Better bring it, OH squats are my favorite!

Daily Motivation:

“It is very important to generate a good attitude, a good heart, as much as possible. From this, happiness in both the short term and the long term for both yourself and others will come.” – Dalai Lama

Obviously, this amazing quote goes deep into the nature of human beings’ interactions with one another. However, for the sake of this blog let’s focus on what it means to you and your training and how that may affect the others in your CF box.

The number one thing that appeals to me about CF, above all else, is the unparalleled sense of community fostered within the CF box, CF web sites/blogs/forums, and the world of CF overall. From the on-ramp student there for the first time to the top Games competitors, the positive and uplifting influence this bond between CFers creates extends beyond the individual and affects the whole. I’ve never encountered an environment where positive AND negative energy flows impact the whole as dramatically as the CF box.

You need to be cognizant of the fact that your attitude, mood, level of motivation, and personal demeanor WILL impact those around you. When you arrive at the box and see your most dreaded movement or WOD programmed on the white board you need to remain upbeat and focused on doing the best you can do that day. If you’re not feeling it that day, are TRULY tired and worn out, injured/too sore, or just in a bad mood do yourself and your classmates a favor and take a rest day. It’s probably what your body needs anyhow!

Bottom line, keep a positive mindset and it will reflect outward to your personal actions and appearance. In turn, these positive vibes will flow to the others in the class and turn what could be a rough session into an (almost) enjoyable experience!

Stay happy and show some STRENGTH THROUGH DISCIPLINE!

TODAY’S CF ENDURANCE

MORNING SESSION

Warm-up:

  • 25 Jumping jacks x 3
  • 5 Hand release push-ups x 3
  • 5 American kettle bell swings @ 35lbs x 3
  • 10 A/S x 3

Strength:

  • Dynamic Effort (DE) bench press with grip variation (regular/narrow/wide), 9 x 3 @ 70% 1RM every :60s.
  1. Completed with load of 140lbs.

Conditioning WOD:

  • 4 Rounds for time of: 500m row, 15 DB thrusters, 15 Pull-ups. *Due to facility limitations (no rowers), I substituted the 500m row for 150 single unders and scaled the pull-ups back to 10 to keep a faster flow in the WOD.
  1. Time: 16:52.

Core:

  • 100 unbroken four-count flutter kicks.

Well, I was unable to get into the box this morning for the workout and was forced to do it in a standard “gym” environment. I was able to pull it off for the most part. The strength portion was great and I moved the load better than anticipated seeing as I haven’t benched significant weight in a while. The Conditioning WOD was alright, even though I had to scale back on the pull-ups. Also, I had to travel outside of the gym to do the single unders which probably added :10s to each round. Still no excuses, I could have done better! Rx’d rest this afternoon, but I may choose to swim, do some mobility, or both. We’ll see how I feel, I’m going to listen to my body on this one.

Coaching at JBLM CF tonight too!!!

AFTERNOON SESSION

Warm-up:

  • 500m row
  • 150yd free

Swimming:

  • 75yds intervals with :60s rest until form/pace dissipates
  1. 1:25
  2. 1:26
  3. 1:16
  4. 1:24
  5. 1:26
  6. 1:26
  7. 1:24
  8. 1:27

I decided to swim because I was feeling good and a friend asked me for help with his swimming. I figured I’d go give him some advice and get a quick workout in. Unfortunately, my form felt terrible from the warm-up through the end of the workout. Doesn’t feel as if much was achieved this session. Lousy form really threw me off, I’m just hoping I didn’t set myself back. Not a great way to end the day…tomorrow will be better. Goodnight.

Leave a Reply

