ME Box Squats, Lots of Swings, and a Bike Ride

Dmitry Klokov, Russian weightlifter. Words can't describe how much of a beast this guy is!

Dmitry Klokov, Russian weightlifter. Words can’t describe how much of a beast this guy is!

Check out the web site All Things Gym for some of the extreme feats of strength by Dmitry Klokov!

This guy is flat out amazing, I’m hoping to get a bit more of a write up on him for this post if I have time this evening. Until then do some of your own research on him. You’ll be impressed!

Daily Motivation:

“There are plenty of difficult obstacles in your path. Don’t allow yourself to become one of them.” – Ralph Marston

Life is hard enough without you making things more difficult for yourself. Being only 28 years old I have amassed a small, yet admirable amount of life experiences. From these I have been able to extrapolate a few truths that I try to live by in my daily life. One of the key ones being that the most simple, basic, pure form or method is, in most cases, the best or most effective. We complicate life these days and I’m just as guilty as the next person. We need to get out of our own way physically, mentally, and emotionally. The road toward our end goal must be smoothed by our own hand, not littered upon. To do this we need to picture each problem or task that is presented to us, break it down to its basest unit then decided upon how to approach.

This is at least what think about when I hear this quote or a paraphrased version. You may think of something completely different. That’s fine, but you should still take my advice for what its worth, whether we’re on the same wavelength or not. Right? Right.

TODAY’S CF ENDURANCE

MORNING SESSION

Warm-up:

  • Stretching with PVC
  • Row 500m
  • 1 HSPU and then HSPU hold x 3
  • 5 American kettle bell swings @ 26lbs x 3
  • 5 A/S with 3sec pause x 3

Strength:

  • Max Effort (ME) Box squat. *Done on a 20″ box.
  1. 45lbs x 15
  2. 135lbs x 8
  3. 155lbs x 6
  4. 185lbs x 4
  5. 205lbs x 2
  6. 225lbs (dropped weight)
  7. 215lbs x 1

Conditioning WOD:

  • 150 Double KB swings for time (35lbs x 2/ 26lbs x 2). *Scaled to the 26lbs Kbs.
  1. Time: 6:54.

Technique Work:

  • Double-unders

Check out this Tabata Times article on double unders complete with how to videos. Great reference for those of us that are challenged by the goat of an exercise!

The strength work this morning was very vanilla. Bland, simple straight forward. I didn’t feel bad, but I didn’t feel great. Missed my PR push of 225lbs and had to ditch the weight while sitting on the box which was awful. Coming off of a rest day, I thought I’d be able to PR by at least 10lbs, but the body wasn’t cooperating. What’s worse is that when I was done, it didn’t even really feel like I worked anything. Odd strength day.

The conditioning WOD was much better! It really got my heart rate up and adrenaline flow. About a quarter of the way in and I was feeling that familiar CF WOD gasping for breath sensation. The scaled workout was just right, pushed hard and to my limits for that particular workout!

Continuing off the good vibes of the Conditioning WOD, double under practice went very well this morning too! Many thanks to Kui for her advice to keep my constantly straying form on track (triceps IN, wrists FORWARD, stay on the toes in the jump, don’t be a “stomper”). I am making progress, it is frustratingly slow progress, but progress nonetheless!

AFTERNOON SESSION

Warm-up:

Biking:

  • :90s on/:60s off until form/pace dissipates

Check back this afternoon for biking results! Hoping to get outside on the bike again. I’m sick of the indoor bikes at the gym, ugghh…

Leave a Reply

