Short Interval Swimming

Aja Barto, CF athlete, keep your eyes on him in 2014!

Aja Barto, CF athlete, keep your eyes on him in 2014!

Behemoth CrossFit home of Aja Barto. A great looking box! For those of you near Cypress, TX check it out!

Aja Barto’s CF Games Page

Daily Motivation:

“To share your weakness is to make yourself vulnerable; to make yourself vulnerable is to show your strength.” – Criss Jami

The shear amount of wisdom packed into this quote is mind boggling! Read it, understand it, absorb it, live it!

Today’s CF Endurance

MORNING SESSION

Warm-up:

  • Stretching with PVC
  • 500m row
  • 50yds, 100yds, 150yds free
  • 150yds kicking x 2

Swimming:

  • 75yd intervals resting :60s until form/pace dissipate.
  1. 1:14
  2. 1:16
  3. 1:16
  4. 1:15
  5. 1:15
  6. 1:16
  7. 1:19
  8. 1:21

Core:

  • Ring plank 3 x TF
  1. :49s
  2. :40s
  3. :43s

Technique Work:

  • Double unders.

Feeling great in the pool; today’s workout of short interval (75yd) iterations was fantastic! More or less, I consider the 75yds distance as a sprint and treated this morning’s session as such a workout. As I mentioned yesterday, I am trying to work on my form in regards to rotation and elongation of my reach. With this in mind, I focused my warm-up on being slow, steady and targeting on these technique points. Then, instead of just charging into the sprint workout and splashing around for the next 30 minutes I stopped and put some thought into it. Attempting to draw the connection between my technique work and the sprint workout I intentionally focused on my form more than my speed. Simply put, I thought about obtaining the rotation and reach and just doing the motions faster. Lo and behold my times improved, I FELT faster and smoother, and the swimming was slightly less fatiguing! Let’s keep this up!

Double under technique practice was not good. #enoughsaid

AFTERNOON SESSION

REST AND RECOVERY!

Leave a Reply

