More Squats?! Let’s Do This!

20140212-112336.jpg

The athlete pictured above is none other than Trey Hardee, a premier American Olympic decathlete! Check out the links below to learn more about him and the sport of decathlon! For those of you who are not familiar with the modern Olympic decathlon, it is a series of 10 events testing athletes in multiple disciplines over a two day period. The events on the first day are the 100m sprint, long jump, shot put, high jump, and 400m run. The second day events are 110m hurdles, discus throw, pole vault, javelin throw, and 1500m run. To say these athletes need to be well rounded is a significant understatement! It’s difficult for me to fathom the amount effort put in for general strength and speed, on top of the specialty skill training involved in this event! This is why Trey Hardee is one of my favorite athletes and someone whose work ethic and dedication should be emulated in your training!

Trey Hardee’s Web Site

Great article from Outside Online about Trey Hardee and the Olympic decathlon in general!

Daily Motivation:

“Succeed or fail, it’s all about getting outside your comfort zone. The only way to move forward is to take that next step.” – Danny Harf

Great advice from wakeboarder Danny Harf! Thanks for sharing this great bit of wisdom Josh!

From decathletes to wakeboarders, I’m spreading the love on Strength Through Discipline today! Read more about Danny Harf in this short bio then check out Defy – A Danny Harf Project!

Today’s CF Endurance

MORNING SESSION

Warm-up:

  • Stretching with PVC
  • Row 500m
  • 5 hand release push-ups x3
  • 8 American kettle bell swings @ 26lbs x3
  • 8 DB shoulder press @ 15lbs x3

Strength:

  • Dynamic Effort (DE) Box squat 10 x 2 @ 70% 1RM on every :45s.
  1. Completed 10 x 2 @ 155lbs.

Conditioning WOD:

  • 1/2 Mary: AMRAP 10:00 of 5 HSPU, 10 pistol squats (5 left leg/5 right leg), 15 pull-ups. *Scaled the HSPU and pistol squats.
  1. Rounds: 4 + 5HSPU and 3 pistol squats.

Core:

  • Farmer’s carry with 80lbs KB. 60yds left arm/60yds right arm x 3.

Technique Work:

  • Double-unders

Awesome stuff happening this morning! First off, last night I was doing some online research into the proper technique for box squats. Never really having a formal lesson I wanted to ensure I was executing the lift properly. After coming across a few excellent videos, I realized that though my execution was close, it was not exact and I was focusing on the wrong things. This has inspried me to write a technique post on the box squat (check back soon!). The conditioning WOD proved to be difficult for me and required some scaling on the HSPU and the pistols. I decreased the range of motion on the HSPU by placing a couple stacked weights with an abmat below my head and going from there. On the pistols I simply held on topart of the pull-up rig as I went down, using it for support as minimally as possible. Actually, I felt like I’ve made some serious progress on my pistol squats and am hoping I will be able to them unassisted soon!

Despite putting in a good effort into my strength work and the conditioning WOD I still felt pretty good so I decided to do some heavy farmer’s carries to work my lateral core and then move on to some low intensity technique work on double unders. After some more invaluable coaching from Josh, I was able to link two double unders for the first time! This may not seem like a big deal (and from a training and competition aspect it certainly isn’t), but it is a pretty significant personal milestone for me. Double unders and muscle-ups have been the bain of my CrossFit existence for quite some time now and I’m hoping to get them down before the Open workouts get released in two weeks time. Feeling like this morning was a great step in that direction!

AFTERNOON SESSION

Warm-up:

  • 500m row
  • 50yds, 100yds free
  • 150yds kicking

Swimming:

  • 200m with 2:00 rest until form/pace dissipates.
  1. 4:10
  2. 4:15
  3. 4:19
  4. 4:25

Swimming felt strong and I focused hard on my form. I’m working on more of a rotation and lengthening my reach in the water. This cuts down on the speed of my stroke, but I think in the long run I will be more efficient and get more out of each pull. We’ll see how it goes, but I’m feeling powerful in the water. Getting pumped for open water swims when it warms up!

Leave a Reply

