Heavy Squats and Biking…I Guess Its Leg Week

Garrett Fisher, CF athlete, great hair!

Garrett Fisher, CF athlete, great hair!

Interview with Garrett Fisher by The Athletic Build

Garrett Fisher’s CF Games Page

Daily Motivation:

“There is a saying in Tibetan, ‘Tragedy should be utilized as a source of strength.’ No matter what sort of difficulties, how painful experience is, if we lose our hope, that’s our real disaster.” – Dalai Lama XIV

Today’s CF Endurance Workout

Warm-up:

  • Stretching with PVC
  • 500m row
  • 5 Hand-release push-ups x 3
  • 8 American kettle bell swings @ 26lbs x 3
  • 5 A/S x3

Strength:

  • Back squat 3-3-3-3-3-3-3. Built up with 95lbs x 10, 135lbs x 8, 155lbs x 5.
  1. 175lbs
  2. 175lbs
  3. 175lbs
  4. 175lbs
  5. 180lbs
  6. 180lbs
  7. 180lbs

AFTERNOON SESSION

Warm-up:

  • 25 jumping jacks x 3
  • 10 Leg swings front/back, side/side
  • 10 Ankle rotations
  • Pistol squat holds

Biking:

  • 1.5M iterations resting 2:00 until form/pace dissipates
  1. Level 6, time: 5:00.
  2. Level 7, time: 4:42.
  3. Level 7, time: 4:22.

Looking at the description of the workout and my results, you may see a slight discrepancy. Obviously, I’m supposed to continue the iterations until my form or pace dissipates and I ended up finishing on my best time. I am still struggling on the bike to judge the effort to put into each iteration due to lack of experience. After the first and slowest iteration I decided to ramp it up each time. After going all out for the last 1/4M of the third iteration I realized how smoked I was and since I had my best time yet, I ended on the high note!

Leave a Reply

