BEAST FRIDAY! Heavy Thrusters and a Leg Killer

IMG_1218

Beastly.

Daily Motivation:

“That which does not kill us makes us stronger.” – Friedrich Nietzsche

We’ve all heard this many, many times before. This time though I want you to actually stop and think about the truth behind this. Every experience that we have gives us strength, whether it be positive or negative, physical, mental, or emotional. We learn and move on, don’t let the failures bring you down.

Check out this podcast about failure on the Barbell Buddha by Chris Moore.

Now, show some STRENGTH THROUGH DISCIPLINE and go crush your WOD!

Today’s CF Endurance

Warm-up:

  • Stretching with PVC
  • 25 jumping jacks x3
  • 8 American kettle bell swings @ 26lbs x 3
  • 5 Air Squats x3

Strength:

  • Maximum Effort (ME) Thruster with 2:00-3:00 rest between sets.
  1. 65lbs x 8
  2. 85lbs x 6
  3. 95lbs x 4
  4. 105lbs x 2
  5. 115lbs x1
  6. 125lbs x 1
  7. 135lbs (Did not get)
  8. 130lbs x 1

Conditioning WOD:

  • 5 Rounds of 200′ front rack KB carry @ (53lbs/26lbs) and 15 KB front rack step-ups @ (53lbs/26lbs) on a 20″ box. *Scaled to 35lbs KB carry and 26lbs KB step-ups in sets of 12.
  1. Time: 14:23

Hit a new thruster PR this morning! I was pretty satisfied with it even though I missed the 135lbs attempt. The conditioning WOD also proved to be much more difficult than I was anticipating and required a good amount of scaling. I was expecting it to be really hard on my legs, and not that it was easy, but the difficult part proved to be holding the KBs in the front rack position. In addition, the carry that I was doing was actually about 100yds which is about 1/3 further than the Rx’d distance. Feeling pretty tired after this one, we’ll see how the swim goes this afternoon…

AFTERNOON SESSION

Ok, a quick note here to keep things honest. The WOD this morning was more difficult than anticipated and after a long day of work I was beat. I decided to listen to my body and take a rest in the afternoon. I’m glad I did because as I write this Saturday morning I’m feeling great and ready to rock and roll. Bring it on the training!

REST AND RECOVERY!

Leave a Reply

