Max Effort Snatch and My Favorite Lady!

Graham Holmberg, CF Games athlete.

Graham Holmberg, CF Games athlete, and fellow Ohioian!

Cool little article and podcast with Graham Holmberg from Lewis Howes

Daily Motivation:

“In the depth of winter, I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer.” – Albert Camus

Today’s CF Endurance

Warm-up:

  • Stretching with PVC
  • 500m row x3
  • 5 Push-ups x 3
  • 5 American kettle bell swings @ 26lbs x 3
  • Pistol squat holds x3

Strength:

  • Maximum Effort (ME) Snatch with 2:00-3:00 rest between sets.
  1. 45lbs x 10
  2. 65lbs x 7
  3. 85lbs x 3
  4. 95lbs x 1
  5. 100lbs x1
  6. 100lbs x1

Conditioning WOD:

  • Helen- 3 Rounds of 400m run, 21 KB swings @ 35lbs, 12 pull-ups
  1. Time: 16:14

Overall, a good morning session! I set a benchmark for my 1RM snatch, even though I think if I had started with less reps I would have been able to hit slightly higher weight for my 1RM. Form felt good though so thats all that matters. On Helen, my time was extremely slow due to a couple of factors. First of all, I was not running on a standard 400m track, I simply ran out of the gym and across a parking lot and back. In reality, I think I ran around 600m on each round. I then had about a :15s walk back to the CF room in the gym when I got back from the runs. Considering not long ago I completed Helen on a track in ideal conditions in 10:25, I think these limiting factors are legitimate. Also, I felt strong while I was doing it so I know I was putting out.

AFTERNOON SESSION

Warm-up:

  • 500m row
  • 50yd, 100yd free
  • 150yd kick

Swimming:

  • 50yd iterations resting :60s until form/pace dissipates
  1. :50s
  2. :52s
  3. :53s
  4. :52s
  5. :51s
  6. :52s
  7. :53s
  8. :54s

 

Leave a Reply

