Max Effort Clean, Tough Conditioning WOD, Biking…Full Day!

Mikko Salo, CF Games athlete. SISU!

Mikko Salo, CF Games athlete. SISU!

Daily Motivation:

SISU

So what is “sisu?” you ask. Sisu is a Finnish term roughly translated as “strength of will, determination, perseverance, and acting rationally in the face of adversity.” (Definition from Wikipedia)

Check out a video of Mikko Salo’s off season training here!

Today’s CF Endurance

MORNING SESSION

Warm-up:

  • Stretching with PVC
  • 25 jumping jacks x3
  • 5 hand release push-ups x3
  • 8 American kettle bell swings @ 26lbs x3
  • Pistol squat holds x3

Strength:

  • Max Effort (ME) Clean @ 2:30-3:00 rest between sets
  1. 45lbs x10
  2. 65lbs x8
  3. 85lbs x6
  4. 105lbs x4
  5. 125lbs x2
  6. 145lbs five attempts and did not get

Conditioning WOD:

  • Row 1000m
  • Bodyweight (BW) Bench Press x 20
  • Row 1000m
  • BW Bench Press x 15
  • Row 1000m
  • BW Bench Press x 10

*I scaled the conditioning WOD to 10 reps of BW Bench @155lbs in each round.

  1. Time: 24:23

AFTERNOON SESSION

Warm-up:

  • Stretching with PVC
  • 25 jumping jacks
  • 10 front/back and side/side leg swings
  • Ankle rotations
  • 10 minutes of easy spinning

Biking: 

  • 1000m on with 2:oo rest until form/pace dissipate.
  1. 1:58
  2. 2:04
  3. 2:05
  4. 2:05?

Overall, not a great training day. I’ve definitely had worse, but I disappointed myself, particularly with my strength work in the morning. I was hoping for a new clean PR which didn’t happen. Then I had to scale back on the bench press reps in the conditioning WOD or else the workout would’ve taken forever! My upper body strength needs to improve drastically, I could only push out a few reps of my body weight at a time. Biking in the afternoon was a little bit better and I also got in some foam roller time prior to the ride. I would’ve liked to have pushed out a 5th iteration on the bike, but I was just too tired from pushing hard on the first four. Pretty satisfied with the ride though. Need some good rest tonight. Upper body strength focus…let’s do this!!

SISU!!

Leave a Reply

