Tempo Bike

lukemckenziea-561x421

Luke McKenzie, Austrailian Triathlete with an impressive resume! Read more about him on the link below.

IMMcKenzie

Luke McKenzie’s Web Site

Today’s CF Endurance

To keep up your motivation (and mine!) I’m going to start posting a daily quote with each training log entry. Frequently, I find inspiration in the words of others who have gone through diversity or have specific insights and thought provoking ideas, hope they help you as much as they help me! Since my blog is called Strength Through Discipline I think this one is appropriate to kick things off!

“With self-discipline most anything is possible.” -Theodore Roosevelt

MORNING SESSION

Warm-up:

  • 25 jumping jacks x3
  • 10 Front/back, left/right leg swings
  • 10 Ankle rotations
  • Pistol squat holds x3

Biking:

  • 35M Tempo ride at 85% of 30M TT pace.
  1. 25M Tempo ride. Time:1:44:46.

So the Rx’d workout was a 35M tempo ride and I completed a 25M ride instead. As I have mentioned in a previous post, I am still conditioning my body to get back up to the higher training volumes. This is being accomplished by adding smaller volume increments to my tempo and TT sessions. My last tempo biking session (and longest to date) was 20M. Therefore, I decided to up it by 25% and go for 25M. I am happy with the results as I feel I got in a really solid ride burning 880 calories and extending my volume slightly. In addition, I’m starting to feel a little bit of joint and muscle pain predominantly in the knee, ankle, and calf of my right leg so not going for the full 35M was most likely a good idea on multiple fronts!

Be smart about your training and listen to your body.

AFTERNOON SESSION

REST!

Leave a Reply

