Long Interval Swim, Focus on Pacing

Dan Hugo, XTERRA pro triathlete. To find out more about Dan and his accomplishments check out his website!

Dan Hugo, XTERRA pro triathlete. To find out more about Dan and his accomplishments check out his website!

Today’s CF Endurance

Nothing fancy today. Just a long interval swim and resting in the afternoon. I’m feeling pretty good this morning though so I may sneak in a little fundamentals and technique work at the box this afternoon!

MORNING SESSION

Warm-up:

  • Stretching with PVC
  • Pistol squat holds
  • 500m Row
  • 50yd, 100yd, 150yd easy free

Swimming:

  • 250yd intervals resting 1:1 until form/pace dissipates. Completed four iterations.
  1. 5:17
  2. 5:34
  3. 5:27
  4. 5:31

Disappointing day at the pool, as my interval times were much slower than anticipated. This could be due to too much focus on pacing instead of putting in more effort and the fact that I’m just a little worn out due to this week’s training volume. Also, there was a mass exercise session going on in the lanes next to me involving about 30 people running laps in the pool. As a result of this there was a noticeable current in the pool that either slowed me down, sped me up, or pushed me sideways.

On the subject of rest and recovery I know I need to do more of both. My performance all around is starting to plateau despite the amount of work I’m completing and the effort I’m putting into my nutrition. In the coming weeks I’m going to focus on getting at least eight hours of sleep a night (currently getting six to seven hours) and taking melatonin and Progenex Cocoon prior to sleep. Hopefully this will bring me back around to the progress I’ve been making in the past two months!

AFTERNOON SESSION

REST!

Leave a Reply

