PRs, New Skills, and Great Coaching!

As you can probably tell from the title I had a productive morning at the box! Thanks to my good friend and Cross Fit champ Josh L. for the tips and training advice. Following the CFE website, here’s how it happened:

MorningTraining:                                                                                                                                                                        

Warm-up: Foam roll and stretching with PVC pipe then 25 jumping jacks, 5 hand release push-ups, 10 air squats (x3)

-Strength: Max effort power cleans with 2:30 rest between attempts. Set 1. 45×8, Set 2. 95×6, Set 3. 110×4, Set 4. 125×2, Set 5. 135×1, Set 6. 140×1 (*New PR)

-WOD as Rx’d: 21-15-9 Pull-ups and hand-stand push-ups (I scaled this to push-ups with my feet elevated on a 36″ box as I can only do a few hand-stand push-ups. Time 4:37.

After the strength portion and WOD I had some left over energy so decided to set a bench mark on toes to bar for :60s. I have a long list of benchmarks I want to set so I will be trying to do one a day after each WOD. I got 19 toes-to-bar in :60s which I was pretty pleased with. Josh said that I needed some work linking the movements together so I worked on that with him for another ten minutes and eventually got it on my fourth or fifth attempt!

All in all a great way to start the day!

20140110-103732.jpg

Leave a Reply

